Music Other Genres

Merce Lemon’s New Song “Backyard Lover” on TunesDeck

Merce Lemon – “Backyard Lover”

With her latest single “Will You Do Me A Kindness,” Merce Lemon impressed us. Today, the Pittsburgh singer-songwriter unveils the first single from her upcoming album set to release this fall.

Lemon is set to drop Watch Me Drive Them Dogs Wild in September. “Backyard Lover,” the lead single of the album, is a melancholic, country-infused indie rock ballad. Reminiscent of Sharon Van Etten for the current generation, Lemon’s husky vocals blend with emotive pedal steel as the track crescendos into a spirited classic rock finale. Lemon reflects on the inspiration behind her music, stating in a press release, “So many of my songs touch on and delved into death, especially in connection to the loss I endured of my best friend at fifteen years old. That loss has forever altered me and shaped who I am in my relationships with lovers, friends, and family.”

The music video for “Backyard Lover” was filmed by Lemon’s father, Greg Pierce, on 16mm film. Check it out below.

01 “Birdseed”
02 “Backyard Lover”
03 “Window”
04 “Foolish And Fast”
05 “Rain”
06 “Crow”
07 “Slipknot”
08 “Blueberry Heaven”
09 “Watch Me Drive Them Dogs Wild”

Watch Me Drive Them Dogs Wild will be available on 9/27 on Darling Recordings. Pre-order it here.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *